Are you

up for more?

Winter in Warth am Arlberg

Winter Holiday in Warth-Schröcken in Vorarlberg

Two age-old and traditional Walser mountain villages between the Bregenzerwald region, the Lechtal valley and the Arlberg. Up to 11 metres of snow fall In Warth-Schröcken a year, which means Warth-Schröcken is the most naturally snowy skiing region not only in Vorarlberg, but in the whole of Austria.

Warth - a special winter sports region

Winter holidays in Vorarlberg
Winter in Warth am Arlberg

The skiing tradition of the Alberg began in the Walser village of Warth and with a priest. In 1894, the priest Johann Müller finally had enough of tramping through the deep snow to get to the neighbouring villages. He ordered two wooden skis from Sweden. In the night, when nobody could see him and one's breath froze in the air, he practised secretly on the slopes around Warth. His difficult and tiresome tramping through the snow was replaced with gliding across the slopes.

At the end of the 1930s, with the construction of the first ski lifts in the Arlberg region, the previously poor mountain villages started to morph into a skiing region of world renown. In this way, Warth can tell a story of love and passion for nature and skiing. Lech-Zürs, Stuben, St.Christoph, and St.Anton are all part of the Arlberg skiing region. Since 2013/14, Warth-Schröcken has been linked to the Arlberg skiing region with the Auenfeldjet ski lift.

Warth-Schröcken - a winter sports region with history in Arlberg

Both Warth and Schröcken were settled by the Walsers, from the Canton of Valais in Switzerland, in the 11th century. Until the 1930s, the Arlberg region was farmed by impoverished mountain farmers. The long-awaited improvement to the region's economic fortunes only came about with tourism. Its high altitude, which was in those days something of a curse, is now a gift. Thanks to its 1,500 metre-high altitude, Warth am Hochtannberg isn't just one of the regions in Austria with the highest likelihoods of snow, you can ski all the way to the doorstep of the Steffisalp Sport Hotel and the Steffisalp Express will take you to the peaks again.

Skiing holiday in the Arlberg region in the heart of Warth

Its unique location is what makes snow a certainty in the Arlberg region - in a place of natural beauty that is almost beyond compare in Austria. And a place in which we, the Steffisalp Sport Hotel in Warth-Schröcken, are at the very heart.

Warth-Lech am Arlberg winter closure

Please note that the road between Lech am Arlberg and Warth-Schröcken is closed in the winter. It is only possible to travel to Warth am Arlberg via the Bregenzerwald and the Tyrolean Lechtal! You can only travel back and forth between Lech am Arlberg and Warth-Schröcken with the Auenfeldjet ski lift.

Convince yourself of the charm of the Arlberg! Send us, the Steffisalp Sport Hotel team, your non-binding enquiry. You will find yourself in the Arlberg region even sooner with an online booking. We look forward to hearing from you!

Bock auf
mehr?

Winter Warth am Arlberg

Winterurlaub in Warth-Schröcken in Vorarlberg

Zwei urige und traditionsbewusste Walser Bergdörfer zwischen dem Bregenzerwald, dem Lechtal und dem Arlberg. In Warth-Schröcken fallen bis zu 11 Meter Schnee im Jahr, somit ist Warth-Schröcken das naturschneereichste Skigebiet nicht nur in Vorarlberg, sondern in ganz Österreich.

Warth ein besonderes Wintersportgebiet

Winterurlaub in Vorarlberg
Winter in Warth am Arlberg

Die Skitradition des Arlberg begann in dem Walserdorf Warth und einem Pfarrer. Im Jahre 1894 war Pfarrer Johann Müller es leid durch den tiefen Schnee in die Nachbargemeinden zu stapfen. Er bestellte sich zwei Holzski aus Schweden. In der Nacht, wenn ihn niemand sehen konnte und der Atmen in der Luft gefror, übte er heimlich an den Hängen rund um Warth. Aus dem schwierigen und anstrengendem stapfen durch den Schnee, wurde leichtes gleiten auf dem Schnee.

Ende der 30er Jahre, mit dem Bau der ersten Skilifte am Arlberg, mauserten sich die armen Bergdörfer, zu einem Skigebiet mit Weltruf. Und so erzählt Warth eine Geschichte der Liebe und Leidenschaft zur Natur und zum Skifahren. Lech-Zürs, Stuben, St.Christoph, und St.Anton zählen zum Ski Arlberg Gebiet. Seit 2013/14 ist Warth-Schröcken mit dem Ski Arlberg, durch den Auenfeldjet, verbunden.

Warth-Schröcken ein Wintersportgebiet mit Geschichte am Arlberg

Warth, als auch Schröcken wurde von den Walsern, aus dem Kanton Wallis in der Schweiz, im 11. Jahrhundert besiedelt. Bis weit in die 30er Jahre wurde der Arlberg von den sehr armen Bergbauern bewirtschaftet. Erst mit dem Tourismus kam der lang ersehnte wirtschaftliche Aufschwung. Die Höhenlage, die damals mehr Fluch war, ist heute ein Segen. Dank der 1.500 Meter zählt Warth am Hochtannberg nicht nur zu den naturschneereichsten Skigebieten Österreichs, sondern sie können komfortabel bis vor die Haustüre des Sporthotel Steffisalp wedeln und der Steffisalp Express bringt Sie wieder den Gipfeln näher.

Skiurlaub am Arlberg im Kern von Warth

Die einzigartige Lage macht den Arlberg so schneesicher und ist von so natürlicher Schönheit, wie kaum ein anderes Gebiet in Österreich. Wir, das Sporthotel Steffisalp in Warth Schröcken, sind mittendrin!

Wintersperre Warth-Lech am Arlberg

Bitte beachten Sie, dass im Winter die Straße zwischen Lech am Arlberg und Warth-Schröcken gesperrt ist. Die Anreise nach Warth am Arlberg ist nur über den Bregenzerwald und dem Tiroler Lechtal möglich! Nur mit Skien können Sie zwischen Lech am Arlberg und Warth-Schröcken hin- und herfahren mit der Skiverbindung Auenfeldjet.

Überzeugen sich selbst vom Charme des Arlbergs! Schicken Sie uns, dem Team vom Sporthotel Steffisalp, eine unverbindliche Anfrage. Noch schneller am Arlberg sind Sie mit einer Online-Buchung. Wir freuen uns auf Sie!